Kelly

peonies blossom

wild grasses grow tall

the mulberry matures

and the scent of lavender wafts by

from I don’t know where

but death seems stronger than life

when I remember how

I held her in my arms

and felt her body become still

as the last breath left her

then cried as my beloved was

carried away wrapped in a quilt

Stephanie K. Hansen © 2009

Published by

Stephanie

I am an artist and curator at large in Hamilton, Ontario. Moreover, I am also a serious patron of the arts. It is not enough to work on my own art, though that is a vast and satisfying part of my life, I also deeply enjoy the company of other artists at all stages of their careers. Emerging artists, mid-career, and established artists all have their particular energies and visions to share that are fascinating to me. The art and literary worlds are my sources of entertainment. I spend my time and energy exploring and celebrating both.

7 thoughts on “Kelly”

  1. I really felt like I was living under the gaze of the death star there for awhile Steph. The death of beloved creatures like Kelly and my Ash brings lessons. I can not begin to explain how the diagnosis and death of Ash, so quickly in the footsteps of the death of Darryl and his beloved Monty, changed life. Kelly’s passing will bring gifts too. Like Seanna she will always be with you. Stay strong!

  2. Sending huge hugs and so much love.
    Gail is right that last memory does not go – I see our little one in my mind every night before I sleep.

  3. This poem touch a place deep inside me. It is four months today since I held my husband of 39 years and watched the light of life leave his eyes. Take care
    Tricia

Leave a Reply

