For Steph and Seanna

How will I know who I am without you?
In an ocean without a star to follow
I would drift until I bumped ashore, forever lost.
You are the star that holds me to my course.

How would I know what road to follow?
You are both the destination and the source.
I am who I am because of you, no longer lost.
You are the star that holds me to my course.

How will I know who I am without you?
All my travelling was to be with you.
You can’t abandon me so far from shore.
You are the star that holds me to my course.

Hold to your course, Steph. Her star still leads you.

Gail

5 thoughts on “For Steph and Seanna”

  1. Oh Gail. I’m breathless. (a long pause) You have said what I have needed to say but could not find the words. That is it. Most exactly and precisely my love and loss. My finding and floundering. Thank you. So beautiful. So VERY beautiful.

    Her star does not shine in my world now, Gail. It is dark here. The only thing that glitters is the broken glass on all the sidewalks. Seanna was never in this place with me and I cannot – nor would I want to – imagine her in this neighbourhood.

    Tell you what, though…I will print out your soul-lifting poem and place it where I can see it constantly. I will read it until it comes true. I believe in the power of words to do exactly such soul magic.

    Thank you again.
    steph

  2. If it brings you some solace, Steph, that is wonderful. Just remember love is to be found here among your friends, and we will all pray that Seanna’s star leads you home.

Leave a Reply

