an attempt

sew-learning.jpg  

 At the risk of embarrassing the crap out of myself I will here and now reveal the first baby steps in the exploration of a new medium: fabric.  Please keep in mind that I have never before touched a needle and thread.  Honest to god…I donated any clothing that had lost a significant button. 

 It’s fabric, twine, sisal, and copper and gold paint.  Too bad the paint doesn’t show well in the picture.  I’m still working on getting my pictures the right size to show enough detail. 

steph

Published by

Stephanie

I am an artist and curator at large in Hamilton, Ontario. Moreover, I am also a serious patron of the arts. It is not enough to work on my own art, though that is a vast and satisfying part of my life, I also deeply enjoy the company of other artists at all stages of their careers. Emerging artists, mid-career, and established artists all have their particular energies and visions to share that are fascinating to me. The art and literary worlds are my sources of entertainment. I spend my time and energy exploring and celebrating both.

4 thoughts on “an attempt”

  1. Heather, I absolutely love you whole site! I have been a writer for 30 years and am a fiber artist. I have a 5 year mailing list at Yahoo called “Women’s Artistic Soul.” It is all women artists working in many mediums but as it started out the first three years as a fiber artists community it is heavily weighted toward fiber and fabric artists of all types. I’d love to have you join!

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WomensArtisticSoul/

    And I am looking so forward to reading more of your blogs and exploring Soul Cafe. Blessings to you,

    Maitri

Leave a Reply

