The Boab Tree

boab.jpg

A Boab near Derby, Western Australia

Every boab tree is unique. They have character and personality as you would expect of such an ancient creature. Some individual boab trees are 1500 years old and older, which makes them the oldest living beings in Australia, and puts them amongst the oldest in the world.

Aboriginals used the giants as shelter, food and medicine. For the white settlers they served as easily recognisable land marks and meeting points, and not to forget as impromptu prison cells.

To read more about the Boab Tree check out this Outback Travel Guide and visit the Dig Tree at Soul Food

9 thoughts on “The Boab Tree”

  1. What a magnificent photo! I’ve not seen one that large and impressive. Truly a tree worth worshipping!
    Have you seen Pat Lowe’s book Boab Tree published by Lothian in the late 1990s, I think? Pat lives in Broome and was married to indigenous artist Jimmy Pike.
    Trisha

  2. How marvelous, oh I think I’m missing out a lot by not having managed to travel out your way, never know.
    Just happy to travel through photographs, I love this tree, can we have some more?

  3. These boab’s are absoutly awsome,we found quite a few at the top of WA and in the Kimberely’s which were used as holding cell’s for prisoner’s…It is just a shame that we have destructive idiot’s running around scratching their names on the trunk’s….would love to get my hand’s on them and scratch my initial’s on their butt’s…..magnificent tree’s and the nuts if you can get them whole,you can engrave them or the local aboroginie will do it for $20 I believe…I just did it myself when it rained at a caravan park,something to do. Wish I could have a few in my backyard…going to try and start the seed’s off

Leave a Reply

