If I Could Rise

If I Could Rise

  • no desire to begin
  • no desire to be gone
  • no one waits for me
  • no one hates for me to be alone
  • quiet and unrequired
  • to smile
  • to touch kindly
  • to reassure
  • a day or a year could pass now
  • and no important love
  • will be missed
  • but all would be well
  • and full
  • and complete
  • and enough
  • if I could rise right now
  • and wash my beloved’s hands

Stephanie Hansen

September 27, 2007

Published by

Stephanie

I am an artist and curator at large in Hamilton, Ontario. Moreover, I am also a serious patron of the arts. It is not enough to work on my own art, though that is a vast and satisfying part of my life, I also deeply enjoy the company of other artists at all stages of their careers. Emerging artists, mid-career, and established artists all have their particular energies and visions to share that are fascinating to me. The art and literary worlds are my sources of entertainment. I spend my time and energy exploring and celebrating both.

7 thoughts on “If I Could Rise”

  1. Stephie love,
    I thought of you yesterday,
    And I found a pigeon’s feather
    Softest white and russet.
    From the down of a mother’s breast,
    Weightless and sun-warmed
    I cradled it to my heart.
    Then tucked it safe in my wallet,
    My purse/my umbilicus.
    I have said that my life
    Is in my ‘Umbilicus’.
    In my life, you are become
    Precious, irreplaceable and unique;
    The Sister who knows my spirit
    And shares the same flight paths.

    I read your words and wept, knowing who your beloved is, and how awful was the loss you suffered. Now I send gentle, loving thoughts your way, and pray for your understanding and healing.

    Love, hugs and kisses,
    GwenGuin

Leave a Reply

