Always When

To small children with big minds

the word Love is the sound

you make that makes mothers

and others

smile.

The loved and the lucky

learn eventually that

love is the When

the sound is made.

When the wicked splinter

is pulled painfully

from the slender finger, forgiveness

is found with the sound of

Love You and Had To and tears.

Love is the sound made when the day is over

and a head is against a heart in the dark

and there is only the beating and

the breath and the

Love You, Baby.

When all the time is spent,

wise and foolish,

the casket is closed

over slender fingers,

still and cold,

and no sound is made

and no sound is heard.

then Love becomes the echo of

a question asked and answered

throughout the lifetime of

a small child with a big mind:

When do I love you, Baby? Tell Steph.

Forever. Stephie loves me forever.

Stephanie K. Hansen

September 16, 2007

Published by

Stephanie

I am an artist and curator at large in Hamilton, Ontario. Moreover, I am also a serious patron of the arts. It is not enough to work on my own art, though that is a vast and satisfying part of my life, I also deeply enjoy the company of other artists at all stages of their careers. Emerging artists, mid-career, and established artists all have their particular energies and visions to share that are fascinating to me. The art and literary worlds are my sources of entertainment. I spend my time and energy exploring and celebrating both.

Leave a Reply

