Shared Pain is Painless

SHARED PAIN IS PAINLESS

 

Hope is something we cling to when we’re down,

but what if the task is too severe,

the future bleak,

and life has lost its zest?

“I know what you’re going through,”

people say.

You say “They don’t”

“I feel for you.”

“They can’t.”

“Things will be better.”

“They don’t know.”

“Do something to keep your mind off it.”

“How can you?”

“Don’t dwell on it.”

“I’m not.”

 

What can I do for my friend

when she’s in constant pain?

I can be there when I’m needed,

Open my heart to her suffering.

I can be understanding, forgiving

if she is not always cheerful.

I can keep her in my prayers

and I can love her.

 

To ignore another’s pain is heartless.

To share another’s pain is painless.

 

Vi Jones

©January 20, 2006

Revised for Bo June 20, 2007

Leave a Reply

