Don’t Stand at my Grave and Weep: For Heather and Darryl

For Heather and Darryl:  Heather I hope you find these words comforting. 
I have always found them to speak to my heart and remind me that my loved ones are still with me, all around me.  It is in this spirit that I pass these words along to you.
Cyn

DO NOT STAND AT MY
GRAVE AND WEEP
 
Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there, I do not sleep.

I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glint on snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
I am the gentle autumn rain.

When you wake in the morning hush,
I am the swift, uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circling flight.
I am the soft starlight at night.

Do not stand at my grave and weep.
I am not there,  I do not sleep.
Do not stand at my grave and cry.
I am not there,  I did not die!

Do not stand at my grave and weep.
I am not there,  I do not sleep.

I am the song that will never end.
I am the love of family and friend.
I am the child who has come to rest
In the arms of the Father
who knows him best.

When you see the sunset fair,
I am the scented evening air.
I am the joy of a task well done.
I am the glow of the setting sun.

Do not stand at my grave and weep.
I am not there, I do not sleep.
Do not stand at my grave and cry.
I am not there, I did not die!
~ Author Unknown ~
 

16 comments

  1. According to everything I can find in terms of research on this poem, it is consistently attributed to Mary Frye. Other than this person’s comment, I can find no source which supports their assertion that this is a Hopi Indian prayer. If the person who posted this comment or anyone else with supporting information would care to post, I would greatly appreciate it. I would like to accurately acknowledge the true author of this beautiful poem/prayer. If you would like to learn more about this poem, Mary Frye, or to see videos of this poem put to music and more, I did find a lovely lens on Squidoo on this subject during my research. Here is the link: http://www.squidoo.com/do-not-stand-at-my-grave-and-weep

  2. Here are some more sources of information about the authorship of this poem. Apparently extensive research was done about its origins back in the 90′s by “Dear Abby” (Abigail Van Buren) at which time it was felt that she provided undeniable proof that Mary Frye was indeed the poem’s author. Years later, it was reinvestigated by a reporter for CBC Canada and again, Mary Frye was reasserted as this poem’s author. The following are several websites which outline and document the controversy and the resulting contention that Ms. Frye was the suthor. Again, if anyone can provide me with valid reliable information to support the claims that this is a Hopi Indian prayer, I will be glad to add those to these comments as well. Again, my concern is with giving proper credit to the writer of this poem and since I personally don’t know who that is, I must rely on the best information I can find. Here are those websites:
    http://www.cbc.ca/ideas/features/shows/poem/

    http://www.businessballs.com/donotstandatmygraveandweep.htm

    http://www.lehuanet.com/lehua/lehualif_doNotStand.html

  3. Once again I must reiterate that I did a lot of research on the authorship of this poem and I have provided what seems to be the most reliable and widely accepted information out there. I found no information to suggest that Chris de Burgh originated this poem (although perhaps he set it to music?) and in fact believe it pre-dates him HOWEVER as I have stated before, in an effort to be fair and accurate, I will gladly post any credible references that attribute him as the author if they are provided to me. Simply making a statement that someone is the author without giving any kind of research to back it up is not enough to satisfy me. Please please please if you care to add comments about whom you believe to be the true author of this poem, do not do so without providing the readers of this blog with some credible sources to back it up with!

  4. I have been doing some further research and so far the only connection I can find between Chris DeBurgh and this poem is a Youtube video that was done as a student project. The director of the video Adrian Brittlebank took the poem and added Chris DeBurgh’s song “When Winter Comes” to it. Perhaps this is where the confusion has come in. Again, if anyone has a CREDIBLE reference showing that someone other than Mary Frye is the author of this poem, please provide it.

  5. A couple of weeks ago I was listening to a poetry programme on BBC (UK) radio. It was said on this programme by a well-known English poet that this poem was found on a scrap of paper in the belongings of a dead soldier – which could have been during the Ist W.W or the 2nd WW. It was later attributed to a woman whose name I don’t remember.

  6. In a school book it stands that this poem was made to one who had lost a loved one, and i think it was made by Mary Frye

  7. Hello, yup this piece of writing is actually fastidious and I have learned lot of
    things from it on the topic of blogging. thanks.

  8. I’m really loving the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems?
    A number of my blog readers have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great
    in Firefox. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this
    issue?

Leave a Reply

