Parted – For Heather and Darryl

Heather, I thought this was lovely because of the rain, the greening and the summer. Words don’t seem to say enough at times like these, so I decided I would leave it to another poet, Alice Meynell, to express the thoughts of a woman’s grief. The initial sense of parting is correctly ambiguous, I think. Love as always to you and Darryl, both of you never, ever parted, love Monika (Imogen Crest):

FAREWELL to one now silenced quite,
Sent out of hearing, out of sight,–
My friend of friends, whom I shall miss,
He is not banished, though, for this,–
Nor he, nor sadness, nor delight.

Though I shall talk with him no more,
A low voice sounds upon the shore.
He must not watch my resting-place,
But who shall drive a mournful face
From the sad winds about my door?

I shall not hear his voice complain,
But who shall stop the patient rain?
His tears must not disturb my heart,
But who shall change the years and part
The world from any thought of pain?

Although my life is left so dim,
The morning crowns the mountain-rim;
Joy is not gone from summer skies,
Nor innocence from children’s eyes,
And all of these things are part of him.

He is not banished, for the showers
Yet wake this green warm earth of ours.
How can the summer but be sweet?
I shall not have him at my feet,
And yet my feet are on the flowers.

by Alice Meynell
(taken from Poet’s Corner online.)

Published by

imogen88

Seeking balance from corporate life years back, Monika Roleff stumbled across Lemuria in cyberspace, and became Imogen Crest, Hermit muse, under the influence of Heather Blakey, educator and Webmistress of Soul Food Cafe - famous global writing and art group. "Imogen" has never looked back, and creates the world as she sees it, through the eyes of nature, in word and art. In "real life" Monika Roleff is a writer, nature photographer, consultant, vintage fairs and events, writing fests and more, with an extensive admin and retail fashion background, and can be contacted on indigo_moon22 at hotmail dot com.

2 thoughts on “Parted – For Heather and Darryl”

  1. The ambiguity, maintaining contact is difficult during the period of so much activity and outpouring but I know that when it is all quiet, we will sit together, sigh and say that it is good to be back together to savour so many memories.

Leave a Reply

