You are the star that holds me to my course

How will I know who I am without you?
In an ocean without a star to follow
I’ll drift until I’m cast ashore, forever lost;
You are the star that holds me to my course.

How will I know which trail to follow?
You are both the destination and the source;
I am who I am because of you, no longer lost.
You are the star that holds me to my course.

How will I know who I am without you?
All my travelling was to be with you.
You can’t abandon me so far from shore;
You are the star that holds me to my course.

How will I ever find my way without you?
In days to come, I’ll wander like a soul forever lost –
And then your light will shine and guide me home.
You are the star that holds me to my course.

3 thoughts on “You are the star that holds me to my course”

  1. Oh Gail. It was written for me darling. Right now I am not sure who I am without my love, my warrior, my protector, my soul mate. It is going to take some time to know who it is that I am.

Leave a Reply

