For Heather & Darryl

I just read the news and want to join everyone at the Temple. This is a very old poem of mine. (Nearly 30 years.)  I wrote it when I was 20.  I never published it or polished it.  It was simply an expression of how I was feeling at the time.  I didn’t title it.  Not sure why.  Anyway, I offer it in the spirit in which it was written.           

                                                                                                  
My love,
the end is nigh.
I dread our day of parting.

My voice is steady,
and my heart is heavy,
  laden with unshed tears.
My eyes are clear,
  undimmed by those hidden tears.
My soul chokes upon unspoken words,
  words I have not said,
  words I know not how to say.

Yet I am not completely lost
  in the darkness of my sadness.
Deep within
From source unknown
There exists a fathomless pool of utter calm
  soothing my sad soul
  and healing my aching heart.
Leaving in its wake a profound sense of peace.

My mourning shall finish as it began,
  quietly,
In the private depths of my own self.
Born in sorrow, dying in peace.
All that remains is a treasured hope.
A hope that we will meet again
  beyond tomorrow.
For you have touched my heart and changed my life.

Dawn                                                                                                                                                                     

One thought on “For Heather & Darryl”

  1. All that remains is a treasured hope.
    A hope that we will meet again
    beyond tomorrow.

    This is the hope that I hold close to my heart Dawn. On one level Darryl is here but on another I long to see his face and hear his voice, feel his hand once more.

Leave a Reply

