From Anita Marie to Heather

When I was a little girl we learned to sing this song as part of our ” American Folksongs ” series in Choir. It was written in the 1920’s and it was simple and sweet- and it didn’t matter if you could sing well.

All that mattered was the picture you had in your heart when you sang it and that picture could be anything you wanted as long as it mattered to you.

Then like a lot of things from our past I let that song slip into the shadows.

It came back to me again when we started to hear about a storm that was going to hit Louisiana- a storm they were starting to call ” Katrina “

Now with Heather’s sad news I can hear that song as clear and as the day I learned it for the first time.

I’ll Fly Away

by

albert e. brumley

Some glad morning when this life is o’er,
I’ll fly away.

To a home on God’s celestial shore,
I’ll fly away.

I’ll fly away, O Glory, I’ll fly away.

When I die, Hallelujah, bye and bye,
I’ll fly away.

When the shadows of this life have flown,
I’ll fly away.

Like a bird thrown, driven by the storm,
I’ll fly away.

I’ll fly away, O Glory, I’ll fly away.
When I die, Hallelujah, bye and bye,
I’ll fly away.

Just a few more weary days and then,
I’ll fly away.

To a land where joy shall never end,
I’ll fly away.

I’ll fly away, O Glory,
I’ll fly away.

When I die, Hallelujah, bye and bye,
I’ll fly away.

moscoso.gif

 

One thought on “From Anita Marie to Heather”

Leave a Reply

