Don’t Give Up!

Don’t Give Up By Peter Gabriel
In this proud land we grew up strong
we were wanted all along
I was taught to fight, taught to win
I never thought I could fail

no fight left or so it seems
I am a man whose dreams have all deserted
I’ve changed my face, I’ve changed my name
but no one wants you when you lose

don’t give up
‘cos you have friends
don’t give up
you’re not beaten yet
don’t give up
I know you can make it good

though I saw it all around
never thought I could be affected
thought that we’d be the last to go
it is so strange the way things turn

drove the night toward my home
the place that I was born, on the lakeside
as daylight broke, I saw the earth
the trees had burned down to the ground

don’t give up
you still have us
don’t give up
we don’t need much of anything
don’t give up
’cause somewhere there’s a place
where we belong

rest your head
you worry too much
it’s going to be alright
when times get rough
you can fall back on us
don’t give up
please don’t give up

‘got to walk out of here
I can’t take anymore
going to stand on that bridge
keep my eyes down below
whatever may come
and whatever may go
that river’s flowing
that river’s flowing
moved on to another town
tried hard to settle down
for every job, so many men
so many men no-one needs

don’t give up
’cause you have friends
don’t give up
you’re not the only one
don’t give up
no reason to be ashamed
don’t give up
you still have us
don’t give up now
we’re proud of who you are
don’t give up
you know it’s never been easy
don’t give up
’cause I believe there’s theres a place
there’s a place where we belong

“If you are never scared, embarrassed or hurt, it means you never take chances.” ~ Julia Soul

When Things Go Wrong by Anonymous
When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,
When the funds are low and the debts are high,
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit-
Rest if you must, but don’t you quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns,
As every one of us sometimes learns,
And many a fellow turns about
When he might have won had he stuck it out.
Don’t give up though the pace seems slow –
You may succeed with another blow.

Often the goal is nearer than
It seems to a faint and faltering man;
Often the struggler has given up
When he might have captured the victor’s cup;
And he learned too late when the night came down,
How close he was to the golden crown.

Success is failure turned inside out –
The silver tint in the clouds of doubt,
And you never can tell how close you are,
It might be near when it seems afar;
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit –
It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit.

“I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.” ~ Michael Jordan

6 Long Years
In 1914, a 24 year-old young man published a short paper in a German physics journal, Annalen der Physik. His ideas were so revolutionary and important that Time magazine named him the ‘Person of the 20th Century’ ahead of Ghandi, Churchill, Martin Luther King and Elvis… …

But the edition of Time magazine I’m referring to was printed 86 years after the paper was first published! In the weeks and months immediately following the publication of Albert Einstein’s ideas, no one took notice. Nothing changed.

It was 6 years before the scientific community finally got a handle on what Albert Einstein was telling them! It was 6 long years before a university offered Albert Einstein a job that took him out of the Berne patent office and into the recognition of his fellow scientists!

Jack London was rejected over 600 times before he finally sold his first piece of writing. Thomas Edison actually failed over 9,999 times before he perfected the incandescent light bulb.

“Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocrities. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence.” ~ Albert Einstein

For more reasons not to give up on your dreams, please read Acres of Diamonds by Russell H. Conwell.

Alternate Download

Bigbonsai_copy


The Oak Tree
by Johnny Ray Ryder Jr
A mighty wind blew night and day
It stole the oak tree’s leaves away
Then snapped its boughs and pulled its bark
Until the oak was tired and stark

But still the oak tree held its ground
While other trees fell all around
The weary wind gave up and spoke.
How can you still be standing Oak?

The oak tree said, I know that you
Can break each branch of mine in two
Carry every leaf away
Shake my limbs, and make me sway

But I have roots stretched in the earth
Growing stronger since my birth
You’ll never touch them, for you see
They are the deepest part of me

Until today, I wasn’t sure
Of just how much I could endure
But now I’ve found, with thanks to you
I’m stronger than I ever knew

The Chi-Chi Tree by Cass Chin
Your skeletal form
Silhouetted against the winter sky
Branches covered with frost
Your limbs chilled by the frigid air

It was not long ago
When summer shone on your fruit
And your leaves were nurtured by the sun
The sap ran strong, and coursed through each twig

But now your foliage lies scattered
In gutters and along fences
The lush green leaves
Are dead and brittle

Each one a memory
Each one a faded jewel
Each one you grew
And nurtured

A storm then came
Which tore off a limb
First it bent
Then it snapped
The sound of wood tearing
Unheard in the scream of the wind

Now the sap is congealed
On your amber wounds
But the jagged splinters still remain
As reminders you cannot forget

The limb is gone and the bark hangs loose
But you still remember the feel of the wind
Whistling through its twigs
The rustle of its leaves in a breeze

Dark clouds scurry across the darker sky
Winter chills right to the core
It numbs but not enough to ease the sorrow

But winter will pass and spring will come; it always does
Your branches will thaw and again bear fruit
New limbs will grow
And will provide comfort with their shade

Stronger and fuller you will grow
With each passing year
As you learn to take in stride
The seasons of life

“Success is not measured by what a person accomplishes, but by the opposition they have encountered, and by the courage with which they have maintained the struggle against overwhelming odds” ~ Charles Lindberg

Published by

alexchua

If you're into photography, reading or writing, feel free to add me as friend :-) Thank you for visitng me in cyber space. This is a very very very big place… so it is no coincidence that you have somehow found me. I believe there are no coincidence, only synchronicity. There are no strangers, only friends who have not met. My name is Alex Chua. Nice to meet you :-) I'm a Peaceful Warrior of Light, Love and Laughter who have accidentally taken the Red Pill and now find myself asking 'What the Bleep Do We Know!?'. I'm a Kundalini Reiki Master and l Heart Huckerbees ;-P Having taken the Mindwalk and met The Alchemist along the way, I now know The Secret and my Waking Life is spent on The Road Less Traveled. I did not start out wanting to be a Warrior of Light. If you ask me, I've been a coward for most of my life, running away from many things… including the ones I love. I was driven by fear… including the fear of losing, rather than inspired by aspirations and dreams. In fact, it was the depressing darkeness and meaninglessness of life that drove me to begin my own Quest for Clarity. I found myself on The Path Well Trodden. I've lost my balance many times on this path… I forgot to pay attention sometimes, fell asleep, and lost my way too… Luckily, I've been guided by people who Ignited my SPARKS (Douglas) and people who taught me how to Share my SPARKS (my family & friends: Jeanine, Jinhan & Vincent), as well as led by series of Signs and Synchronicities to my life work as a Possibilities Coach. I spend most of my free time with my camera, as well as reading & writing. Beyond Possibilities is simply a platform through which I can share what I learn, with people who are open to going Beyond Possibilities. I'm currently working with Action City (Big Box International Pte. Ltd.) in Training & Marketing (since 2008). This is a wonderful company where I've made many friends who I believe will be with me for a long time to come. Some stuff that I'm proud of includes having my photography exhibited at the RING CUBE in Tokyo & published in a calendar in 2011. I have also been recognized for scholastic achievement and excellence by The Golden Key International Honour Society in 2001 and was awarded The RMIT Business Dean's Award in 2002. You can view my professional profile at http://sg.linkedin.com/in/alexchua

4 thoughts on “Don’t Give Up!”

Leave a Reply

